Quitting smoking: Fear of quitting is in any case unfounded

Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, better known as smoker's lung, is on the rise worldwide. Although the disease is often played down as "smoker's cough", it has the fourth highest death rate worldwide.

Fear of withdrawal symptoms prevents many from quitting smoking
Many smokers would like to quit, but fear of withdrawal symptoms often prevents them from even trying. "Most of them cannot imagine that they will feel better afterwards, even if they have become really ill from smoking," reports Rudolf Schoberberger from the Institute for Social Medicine at MedUni Vienna in the run-up to World No Smoking Day next Sunday (May 31). But the fear of quitting is unfounded.

'

According to the MedUni Vienna, many smokers feel the desire to overcome their addiction. Current surveys indicate that almost a quarter of all smokers would like to reduce tobacco consumption and a third would like to quit completely. 37 percent have already tried to quit. However, the fear that the withdrawal symptoms will be unbearable is a major barrier. "The stronger the nicotine addiction, the stronger the fear," explains Schoberberger. However, according to the results of a recent study published in the specialist magazine “Public Health”, this fear remains unfounded.

Many smokers would like to quit but fear persistent withdrawal symptoms. (Image: Bernd Kasper / pixelio.de)

After weaning, the ex-smokers feel much better
Many smokers who are heavily dependent on nicotine would like to quit, but fail because of the fear that the desire to smoke will remain unbearable afterwards. The study with participants in the three-week inpatient smoking therapy, which was scientifically monitored by the MedUni Vienna, now comes to the clear result that this fear of withdrawal symptoms when quitting is unfounded. The evaluation of the success rate of inpatient smoking therapy by the social medicine specialists at MedUni Vienna has shown that "those who have stopped smoking sustainably are much better off in the long term," reports Schoberberger. Of 270 respondents, more than 42 percent said one year after their inpatient smoking therapy, “that their health and general health are better and that they still do not smoke.” Almost a third of the participants had started smoking again and that Rest did not show up for the check-up appointments.

Improved breathing, better sleep, fewer cardiovascular problems
According to the researchers, quitting smoking had numerous positive effects on the well-being of former smokers. There was "a significant increase in satisfaction with sleep, but also with breathing and mobility," reports Schoberberger. The drug use in this group has also decreased significantly. In addition, before the therapy, 23.2 percent of the current non-smokers stated that they frequently suffer from cardiovascular problems and after only six months this value had decreased to 5.8 percent. Furthermore, 31.4 percent of the participants rated their general well-being as frequently impaired before starting therapy, while it was only 7.5 percent afterwards. Overall, the "tobacco abstinence led to a significant improvement in health and more life satisfaction," said Schoberberger. At the same time, “the desire to smoke is no longer an issue for most of those who have been weaned after six months.” The fear of quitting is therefore unfounded.

Quitting smoking is also worthwhile in old age
A study by the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) in Heidelberg, which was published in the specialist magazine “British Medical Journal”, recently examined the health benefits of quitting smoking. This came to the conclusion that weaning in old age still has clear positive effects. For example, people who smoked their last cigarette when they were over 60 had a significant reduction in the risk of a heart attack or stroke within a few years. Even in the first five years after the last cigarette, the risk was significantly lower. According to the head of the study, Professor Hermann Brenner, it is never too late to quit smoking, because even people in the highest age group would still benefit greatly from it in terms of health. (fp)

Tags:  Other Subjects Hausmittel

الإقلاع عن التدخين: الخوف من الإقلاع عن التدخين لا أساس له بأي حال من الأحوال

مرض الانسداد الرئوي المزمن ، المعروف باسم رئة المدخن ، آخذ في الارتفاع في جميع أنحاء العالم. على الرغم من التقليل من أهمية هذا المرض باعتباره "سعال المدخن" ، إلا أنه يحتل المرتبة الرابعة في معدل الوفيات على مستوى العالم.

الخوف من أعراض الانسحاب يمنع الكثيرين من الإقلاع عن التدخين
يرغب العديد من المدخنين في الإقلاع عن التدخين ، لكن الخوف من أعراض الانسحاب غالبًا ما يمنعهم حتى من المحاولة. يقول رودولف شوبربرجر من معهد الطب الاجتماعي في ميدوني فيينا في الفترة التي تسبق اليوم العالمي للامتناع عن التدخين الأحد المقبل (مايو): "لا يستطيع معظمهم تخيل أنهم سيشعرون بتحسن بعد ذلك ، حتى لو مرضوا حقًا بسبب التدخين". 31). لكن الخوف من الإقلاع عن التدخين لا أساس له من الصحة.

'

وفقًا لـ MedUni Vienna ، يشعر العديد من المدخنين بالرغبة في التغلب على إدمانهم. تشير الدراسات الاستقصائية الحالية إلى أن ما يقرب من ربع جميع المدخنين يرغبون في تقليل استهلاك التبغ وثلثهم يرغبون في الإقلاع عن التدخين تمامًا. 37 في المائة حاولوا بالفعل الإقلاع عن التدخين. ومع ذلك ، فإن الخوف من أن أعراض الانسحاب ستكون عائقًا رئيسيًا. يوضح شوبربرجر: "كلما كان إدمان النيكوتين أقوى ، كان الخوف أقوى". ومع ذلك ، وبحسب نتائج دراسة حديثة نُشرت في المجلة المتخصصة "Public Health" ، فإن هذا الخوف لا يزال بلا أساس.

يرغب العديد من المدخنين في الإقلاع عن التدخين ولكنهم يخشون استمرار أعراض الانسحاب. (الصورة: بيرند كاسبر / pixelio.de)

بعد الفطام ، يشعر المدخنون السابقون بتحسن كبير
يرغب العديد من المدخنين الذين يعتمدون بشدة على النيكوتين في الإقلاع عن التدخين ، لكنهم يفشلون بسبب الخوف من أن تظل الرغبة في التدخين لا تطاق بعد ذلك. توصلت الدراسة التي أجريت مع المشاركين في علاج تدخين المرضى الداخليين لمدة ثلاثة أسابيع ، والذي تمت مراقبته علميًا من قبل MedUni Vienna ، إلى نتيجة واضحة مفادها أن هذا الخوف من أعراض الانسحاب عند الإقلاع عن التدخين لا أساس له من الصحة. أظهر تقييم معدل نجاح العلاج بالتدخين للمرضى الداخليين من قبل أخصائيي الطب الاجتماعي في MedUni Vienna أن "أولئك الذين توقفوا عن التدخين بشكل مستدام هم أفضل حالًا على المدى الطويل" ، وفقًا لتقرير شوبربرجر. من بين 270 مستجيبًا ، قال أكثر من 42 في المائة بعد مرور عام على علاجهم بالتدخين للمرضى الداخليين ، "أن صحتهم وصحتهم العامة أفضل وأنهم لا يزالون لا يدخنون". ما يقرب من ثلث المشاركين قد بدأوا التدخين مرة أخرى وأن بقية المشاركين لم يفعلوا ذلك. الحضور لمواعيد الفحص.

تحسين التنفس ، وتحسين النوم ، وتقليل مشاكل القلب والأوعية الدموية
وفقًا للباحثين ، كان للإقلاع عن التدخين العديد من الآثار الإيجابية على رفاهية المدخنين السابقين. تشير شوبربرجر إلى أن هناك "زيادة ملحوظة في الرضا عن النوم ، ولكن أيضًا مع التنفس والتنقل". كما انخفض استخدام المخدرات في هذه المجموعة بشكل ملحوظ. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قبل العلاج ، ذكر 23.2 في المائة من غير المدخنين الحاليين أنهم يعانون بشكل متكرر من مشاكل في القلب والأوعية الدموية ، وبعد ستة أشهر فقط ، انخفضت هذه القيمة إلى 5.8 في المائة. علاوة على ذلك ، صنف 31.4 في المائة من المشاركين صحتهم العامة على أنها ضعيفة بشكل متكرر قبل بدء العلاج ، بينما كانت 7.5 في المائة فقط بعد ذلك. وقال شوبربرجر إن "الامتناع عن التدخين أدى بشكل عام إلى تحسن كبير في الصحة وزيادة الرضا عن الحياة". في الوقت نفسه ، "لم تعد الرغبة في التدخين مشكلة بالنسبة لمعظم أولئك الذين تم فطامهم بعد ستة أشهر". لذلك فإن الخوف من الإقلاع عن التدخين لا أساس له من الصحة.

الإقلاع عن التدخين مفيد أيضًا في الشيخوخة
فحصت دراسة أجراها المركز الألماني لأبحاث السرطان (DKFZ) في هايدلبرغ ، والتي نُشرت في المجلة المتخصصة "British Medical Journal" ، مؤخرًا الفوائد الصحية للإقلاع عن التدخين. توصل هذا إلى استنتاج مفاده أن الفطام في سن الشيخوخة لا يزال له آثار إيجابية واضحة. على سبيل المثال ، الأشخاص الذين دخّنوا آخر سيجارة لهم عندما تجاوزوا الستين من العمر لديهم انخفاض كبير في خطر الإصابة بنوبة قلبية أو سكتة دماغية في غضون بضع سنوات. حتى في السنوات الخمس الأولى بعد آخر سيجارة ، كان الخطر أقل بكثير. وفقًا لرئيس الدراسة ، البروفيسور هيرمان برينر ، لم يفت الأوان بعد على الإقلاع عن التدخين لأنه حتى الأشخاص في أعلى فئة عمرية سيستفيدون منه بشكل كبير فيما يتعلق بالصحة. (fp)

الكلمات:  إعلانية آخر اعضاء داخلية